EEA Grants

The European Economic Area (EEA) was created in 1994 as a Free Trade Area between the European Community (EC) and the European Free Trade Association (EFTA). The EEA brings together the Member States of the European Union (EU) and three of the EFTA States (Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein) in an internal market based on the free movement of goods, persons, services and capital.

The EEA Grants represent the financial contribution from Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein to reduce economic and social disparities in Europe and to strengthen bilateral relations between the donor countries and 15 EU countries in Central and Southern Europe and the Baltics.

The 3 Donor States cooperate closely with the EU through the Agreement on the European Economic Area, so that the financial support granted between 1994 and 2014 exceeds 3 billion EUR.

For the period 2014-2021, the EEA Grants amount to 1.5 billion EUR. The priorities for this period are:

Innovation, research, education and competitiveness
Social inclusion, youth employment and poverty reduction
Justice and home affairs
Culture, civil society, good governance and fundamental rights
Environment, energy, climate change and low carbon economy

The EEA Grants are jointly financed by Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, whose contributions are based on their GDP.

Within the period 2014 – 2021, Romania benefits from a total budget amounting to 500 million euro, the second largest financial allocation through EEA and Norway Grants.

EEA and Norway Grants distribution 2014-2021

Distribuția fondurilor



Learn more about EEA Grants on and Facebook.

In Romania, the Ministry of European Funds through General Directorate for Mechanisms and Non-refundable Financial Instruments is designated as the National Focal Point (NFP), which has the overall responsibility regarding the achievement of general objectives of the EEA Financial Mechanism 2014-2021 and for implementing the provisions of the Memorandum of Understanding.

Learn more about NFP on and Facebook.